John Templeton (1765-1825)

Name – John Templeton (1765-1825)
Naturalist, Pioneer of Irish Botany.
Date of unveiling – 17th April 2024.
Location – The Tropical Ravine, Botanic Gardens, Belfast. BT9 5AT.
Plaque funded by – Belfast City Council.
Plaque unveiling by – Belfast Lord Mayor Councillor Ryan Murphy and Rev. Rachel Bray.

Aileen Anne Garmson photographs of plaque unveiling

Aileen Anna Garmson.


Chris Spurr, Chairman-Ulster History Circle; Ernest Stokes, First Secretary-New Zealand Embassy
Dublin; Leslie McKeague, Bailieborough, Ulster History Circle and Emma Clancy, Cavan County Librarian.
Chris Spurr, Councillor Clifford Kelly and Ernest Stokes.
Ernest Stokes, First Secretary of the New Zealand Embassy  greets guests in his
native language.
Councillor Clifford Kelly and Ernest Stokes unveil the blue plaque.
Eoin Doyle, Chief Executive Cavan County Council; Emma Clancy, Cavan County
Librarian; Councillor Carmel Brady, Councillor Clifford Kelly and First Secretary
New Zealand Embassy, Ernest Stokes.
Members of the Ulster History Circle with Ernest Stokes and Councillor Kelly.
l/r. Seamus McKee, Ernest Stokes, Chris Spurr-Chairman Ulster History Circle, 
Councillor Clifford Kelly, Leslie McKeague, Eibhlin Mhic Aoidh and Kenneth Irvine.
Local guests enjoying the plaque ceremony.
Emma Clancy-Cavan County Librarian speaks about Kingscourt lady, Aileen Anna Garmson.
Councillor Clifford Kelly presents Ernest Stokes, First Secretary, New Zealand Embassy,
Dublin with a hamper of produce from County Cavan.
Students from Coláiste Dún an Rí attending the unveiling ceremony.
Pupils from St Josephs National School attending the unveiling ceremony.

Cardinal Tomás Ó Fiaich

Name – Cardinal Tomás Ó Fiaich

Date of unveiling – 3rd November 2023.

Location – ‘An Chrosbhóthar’, 58 Kiltybane Road, Cullyhanna, BT35 0LW.

Funded by – Foras na Gaeilge.

Unveiled by – Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of all-Ireland, Eamon Martin,
with the nephew, Tom Ó Fiaich and members of the Ó Fiaich family.

Photographs from the Dr James McHenryPlaque unveiling

Jane Allen, D.L.-Co.Antrim unveils the blue plaque watched by Mayor of Mid and East Antrim Borough Council, Gerardine Mulvenna.


Mayor Gerardine Mulvenna, June Allen DL. Dr David Hume MBE, Chris Spurr Chairman-Ulster History Circle – Back – Ian Crozier, CEO, Ulster-Scots Agency, Gordon Lyons, MLA, Dr. Paul Roelle, United States Consulate Representative.


Guests at the unveiling.

Jane Allen D.L. and Mayor Gerardine Mulvenna.


David Hume -Ulster History Circle and Eibhlin Mhic Aoidh, Vice-Chair Ulster History Circle.


Dr. Paul Roelle, Dr. David Hume MBE, Mayor Gerardine Mulvenna, Chris Spurr- Chairman, Ulster History Circle.


Councillor Matthew Warwick, Gerardine Mulvenna and Ian Crozier.

Sean Hollywood


Name – Sean Hollywood (1943 – 1998)

Date of unveiling – 12th December 2023.

Location – St. Coleman’s College, Violet Hill, Newry.

Funded by – Modern Fireplace and Monumental Works Ltd. (Through the Newry Maritime Association)

Unveiled by – the sisters and nephew of Sean Hollywood.

Gladys Maccabe (I918-2018)


Name – Gladys  Maccabe (I918-2018)

Artist, Writer, Critic, First President Ulster Society of Women Artists 1957 Date of unveiling – 23rd May 2023.

Plaque Location – 17 Stranmillis Road, Belfast BT9 5AF.

Unveiled by – Professor Christopher Maccabe.

Sponsored by – Belfast City Council.

Photographs from the Brian Moore Plaque unveiling

Photographs from the Brian Moore Blue Plaque unveiling


Novelist – Brian Moore ( by kind permission of the Belfast Telegraph)


l.r. Stephen Brady of ISD, Seamus McKee, Ulster History Circle and Tim Clifford, treasurer-Ulster History Circle


Alister McReynolds-Ulster History Circle, with members of Brian Moore’s extended family, including Ben Magook

Chris Spurr, Chairman-Ulster History Circle and Seamus McKee-Ulster History Circle welcome the Lord Mayor of Belfast, Councillor Tina Black.


Alan Boyd and Father Eugene O’Hagan


Chris Spurr with guests including Father Eugene O’Neill of St. Patrick’s Parish


Family guests of blue plaque recipient,  Brian Moore


Chris Spurr, Chairman-Ulster History Circle welcomes guests and friends to the unveiling of the blue plaque


Guests listening to the speeches


The Lord Mayor of Belfast, Councillor Tina Black




Dr. Dermot Maguire


Dr. Garrett Igeo – nephew of Brian Moore.


Kenneth Irvine, Patricia Irvine and Brenda McKee


Northern Visions Television recording the event


The Lord Mayor unveiling the blue plaque to Brian Moore


Extended family members of Brian Moore with the Lord Mayor.


Dr. Garrett Igeo, Councillor Tina Black and Seamus McKee-Ulster History Circle


Clifton Street – 1912.